Over 140 gents applied to enter the Open due to cancellations and non-shows 135 teed up on Saturday.

The 36th Lamlash Open was held on the 3rd and 4th August with a rather uncertain weather forecast. The Club’s green staff had prepared a course in great condition, thanks to the weather of the past few weeks. However, apart from the early starters on Sunday the weather conditions were superb matched by the competitors excellent low scoring, with the course unprotected by any wind conditions. There were also good stories at both ends of the scale.

Craig Young playing off +1 almost swept the boards again registering a scratch 61 on Saturday followed by a scratch 63 on Sunday in spite of playing in the worst weather conditions.

A one handicapper and champion of his home course playing in the best conditions of the weekend managed to register a net score of 157 and another with a handicap of 5 had a no return on both days.

Many of the Club members featured in the prizes a few were Arran born but now reside on the mainland.

Many thanks to all our valuable sponsors.

Sponsored holes for Saturday winners were -

  1. Drive Ewan McKinnon, 1. N. pin Neil Cameron, 2. N. pin Alan Ferguson, 3. Drive 13+ Cliff Martin, 3. James Conlan, 4. Nick Clark, 5. Alan Maudsley. 6.Drive Aiden Moore, 6 Bob Macrae, 7. Peter Gossman,
  2. Craig Young, 9. Ker Manson, 10. Ian Kennedy, 11. Jack Brown, 12 N.Pin Matt Harvey, 13. N.Pin Alex Farmer, 14 Stuart Cameron, 15. Craig Grant, 16. Mark McMillan, 17. Ian Kennedy, 18 Target Chris Wall, 18. Ian Kennedy.


Sponsored holes for Sunday winners were -

  1. Drive Ewan McKinnon, 1. Alan Ferguson, 2. Aiden Moore, 3 Drive 13+ Neil Docherty. 3. Stuart Cameron, 4. Robert Young, 5. Kenny Glen, 6.Drive Alan Wells, 6. Graeme Buchanan, 7. Calum Rae, 8. Chris Wall, 9. Ian Docherty, 10. Mark McMillan, 11. N. Pin Paul Cowan, 12. Robert Calder, 13. Ian Taylor, 14. Neil Young, 15. Ewan McKinnon, 16. Robert Calder, 17. Gordon Watson, 18. Target Ian Kean, 18. Todd Jameson. Overall booby highest net returned Mr Fenwick.



Saturday cup for the PHT- 3rd Steven O’Day 71-9-62, 2nd Nick Clark 67-5-62 BIH on last 3 holes. 1st William Currie 67-10-57.

Sunday Cup for the Drift Inn- 3rd Robert Calder 69-9-60 BIH. 2nd Norrie McIntyre 68-9-59. 1st Craig McCance 74-15-59 BIH

Senior Scratch 60+ was Paul Clark with 145

Senior Handicap 60+ was Alastair Crawford with 123

Lamlash Bay Hotel Cup for best local player was 3rd Ewan McKinnon 125,

2nd Wiliam Currie 125 BIH 1st Norrie McIntyre 124.

Isle of Arran Distillery quaich for scratch.

3rd Stuart Cameron 136, 2nd Ewan McKinnon 125 1st Craig Young 124.


The Open Cup -

5th William Currie 125, 4th Mark Carnegie 125 BIH, 3rd Ewan McKinnon 125 BIH

2nd Norrie McIntyre 124, 1st Alastair Crawford 123.

Following the presentation of prizes the evening was ably rounded off with the music provided by Tom McGarrigle.

Next year’s Open will be subject to a possible change of date- scheduled for the 8th and 9th August- may be brought forward by one week.

Once confirmed the Annual Open will be held on the first Saturday and Sunday of August regardless of the calendar.


    KA27 8JU
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.